Herman Key, Jr. Memorial Holiday Tournament Kicks Off This Weekend

Nov 30, 2015

CHARLOTTESVILLE–The 15th annual Herman Key, Jr. Memorial Holiday wheelchair basketball tournament will kick off this weekend with eight teams competing at two locations in Charlottesville, Virginia.

The tournament field features the #5 ranked Atlanta Shepherd Stealers, the #8 Erie Bay City Thunder, the #16 Miami Heat Wheels, and the host #18 Charlottesville Cardinals, in addition to the Washington (DC) NRH Ambassadors, the MAPVA Richmond Rimriders, the Carolina Tar Wheels, and the Virginia Beach Sunwheelers.

The Shepherd squad won the tournament championship in 2014 by defeating the Cardinals 72-56, and have won the top honors three times.  Bay City took the crown in 2012.  The Cardinals have claimed the title four times over the years.

Games will begin at 7:15 p.m. on Friday evening at both Tandem Friends School and at Walton Middle School and continue throughout the weekend.

The championship game is scheduled for noon on Sunday at Tandem Friends School.  The tournament schedule is listed below.

The tournament is named in honor of Herman Key, Jr. who was the captain of the Cardinals and the Assistant Director at the Independence Resource Center in Charlottesville.  He also served as chair of the Charlottesville Planning Commission.  Key died in 2004 at the age of 39.

Herman Key Jr. Memorial Holiday Tournament
December 4th-6th, 2015
Game # Day Time Home Visitor Site
1 Friday 7:15 p.m. Stealers Cardinals Tandem
2 Friday 7:15 p.m. Rimriders Sunwheelers Walton
3 Friday 8:45 p.m. Heat Wheels Thunder Tandem
4 Friday 8:45 p.m. Tar Wheels Ambassadors Walton
5 Saturday 9:00 a.m. Heat Wheels Cardinals Tandem
6 Saturday 9:00 a.m. Sunwheelers Ambassadors Walton
7 Saturday 10:30 a.m. Thunder Stealers Tandem
8 Saturday 10:30 a.m. Tar Wheels Rimriders Walton
9 Saturday 12:45 p.m. Thunder Cardinals Tandem
10 Saturday 12:45 p.m. Sunwheelers Tar Wheels Walton
11 Saturday 2:15 p.m. Heat Wheels Stealers Tandem
12 Saturday 2:15 p.m. Ambassadors Rimriders Walton
13 Saturday 5:15 p.m. A1 B4 Tandem
14 Saturday 5:15 p.m. B1 A4 Walton
15 Saturday 6:45 p.m. A2 B3 Tandem
16 Saturday 6:45 p.m. B2 A3 Walton
17 Sunday 8:30 a.m. Winner G13 Winner G16 Tandem
18 Sunday 8:30 a.m. Winner G15 Winner G14 Walton
19 Sunday 10:00 a.m. Loser G14 Loser G16 Tandem
20 Sunday 10:00 a.m. Loser G15 Loser G13 Walton
21 Sunday 11:30 a.m. Loser G 18 Loser G17 Walton
22 Sunday 12:00 p.m. Winner of Game 17 Winner of Game 18 Tandem
  Sunday 1:30 p.m. Awards Ceremony   Tandem